Deep Dive into the Mind: Exploring Jung's Eight Cognitive Processes and Attitudes

Jun 30, 2023

Our journey to understanding the enigmatic labyrinth of the human mind continues. Building upon our exploration of Carl Jung's four mental functions, we will dI’ve deeper into the realm of cognitive processes and the crucial roles played by the attitudes of Extraversion and Introversion.

The Spectrum of Attitudes: Extraversion and Introversion:

Extraversion and Introversion, as proposed by Carl Jung, represent the direction our mental energy flows. While we all use both to some degree, one usually dominates our personality:

  • Extraverted Functions: These are oriented outwards, focused on the world and people around us. Extraverts gain energy from interaction with the external world, are typically outgoing, and enjoy working in group settings.

  • Introverted Functions: These focus inwards, towards our thoughts, feelings, and subjective experiences. Introverts are energized by spending time alone, are generally reflective, and prefer one-on-one or small group interactions.

Navigating the Eight Cognitive Processes:

When we combine the four mental functions (Thinking, Feeling, Sensing, and Intuition) with the two attitudes (Extraversion and Introversion), we arrive at eight distinct cognitive processes. Each process represents a unique way we engage with the world, influencing our behavior, decisions, and relationships.


  1. Extraverted Thinking (Te): Goal-oriented and logical, Te is focused on external organization and productivity. It uses objective criteria for making decisions.

  2. Introverted Thinking (Ti): Ti seeks precision, such as the exact word to express an idea. It notices the minute distinctions that define the essence of things, then analyzes and classifies them.

  3. Extraverted Feeling (Fe): This function seeks social connections and creates harmonious interactions through polite, considerate, and appropriate behavior. Fe responds to the explicit (and implicit) wants of others and may even create an internal conflict between the subject’s own needs and the desire to meet the needs of others.

  4. Introverted Feeling (Fi): Fi filters information based on interpretations of worth, forming judgments according to criteria that are often intangible. Fi constantly balances an internal set of values such as harmony and authenticity.

  5. Extraverted Sensing (Se): Se focuses on the experiences and sensations of the immediate, physical world. With an acute awareness of the present surroundings, it brings relevant facts and details to the forefront and may lead to spontaneous action.

  6. Introverted Sensing (Si): Si collects data in the present moment and compares it with past experiences, a process that sometimes evokes the feelings associated with memory, as if the subject were reliving it.

  7. Extraverted Intuition (Ne): Ne finds and interprets hidden meanings, using “what could be” thinking to explore multiple possibilities. Ne allows us to see different paths or ways.

  8. Introverted Intuition (Ni): Ni is focused on internal, symbolic interpretation. Ni transforms things to create a depth of understanding that is typically hard to explain to others.


Understanding Jung's eight cognitive processes and attitudes of Extraversion and Introversion provides us with deeper insights into our mental landscape. As we learn to identify these processes within ourselves, we gain greater self-awareness and a better understanding of our motivations and behaviors. Remember, these processes and attitudes don't work in isolation; they work in harmony to influence how we perceive and respond to our world.

Our exploration doesn't end here. In our upcoming masterclass, "Update Your Algorithm", we will dive deeper into these concepts, exploring how we can apply this understanding to personal growth and relationships. Stay tuned and get ready to unlock the secrets of your mind.

Agape and Stay L.I.T.
Harry "The Nocturnal Therapist" Turner